Monday, November 21, 2022

we all know what it is

Half-assed- (adj.)-incompetent,inadequate. (oed shorter version p.1192)___________________people call things...or ideas...or other people "stupid" generally ( in my experience ) because they don't like something/one...or an idea...or a coffeecake...or whatever...they call it "stupid" because they don't like it and so it must be...it's all relative...i was wondering if half-assed was a species of "stupid"...however i did not wonder for very long before i came to the conclusion that half-assed is not a synonym for "stupid"...we have all seen half-assed and we recognized it immediately...it meshes with the oed's "inadequate" and "incompetent"..the faucet or, perhaps, the counter top were intalled in a half-assed fashion...without much skill or attention to rather outstandingly important detail..."incompetent" or, at least, inattentive...so half-assed is far more specific than "stupid" will ever be...with an external and moderately objective definition in hand i believe i will try to sort out the half-assed as i wander around the interweb or the media or books or work or the grocery store...we all have cmaeras...objective proof of the half-assed should be a realtively simple matter...and we will try not to verge into "stupid" as we look.

No comments:

Post a Comment

anyone know an electrician?

that cannot be legal, much less safe...lightpole at southlake mall...kudos to maintenance